This article reviews the options for your automatic post-live on-demand webcast, including making the archive available, editing the beginning and end, creating a Single File Archive, creating a Table of Contents, and automatic redirect options. All of these options are found in the Archive tab in the Navigation bar of your webcast.
Webcast Elite will automatically record and save an archive of your webinar by default. The archive will begin processing once the live webinar ends and will be available approximately three hours later.
Once the archive is available, your webcast will be viewable via the Audience URL, and attendees can watch it at their leisure.
Your webcasts will stay active as long as your ON24 account is active unless you decide to change the availability. Archived webinars will be available and set to Always by default. To make the archive inaccessible, select Inactive from the drop-down menu.
Setting your webcast to Inactive will prevent your audience from watching the webinar on-demand. Webcasts set to Inactive will be irrevocably deleted after 45 days. An automated email will be sent to the primary account holder 30 days before deletion as a reminder. To keep the webcast, set the archive back to Available.
Note: Setting your archive to inactive will also remove access to the event reporting via the Reports URL. If you are setting your event to inactive, please download any needed reports right after your event. The data from the event will still show in Analytics reporting.
The archive can also be set to be available for a set duration, from one month to three years. After this time, the archive will move to Inactive, and the Inactive archive rules apply.
When copying an event, this option will carry over to the new event.
Edit Webcast for On-Demand Viewing
If you would like to crop the beginning or the end of the webinar, you can do by setting new Start and End times. The newly created file will need processing time. During that time, the processing message will display in the on-demand event.
Click the Play button to review the webinar in the video player.
Set the new Start Point and End Point to determine when you would like the webcast to begin and end for your on-demand viewers.
Use the Preview button to make sure the new times are correct. The Preview button plays the newly selected start and endpoints, but the timing shown in the video player will always display the total length of the original recorded media. Ensure the master presenter media file's cropped portion is correct before clicking Create File.
Clicking Create File will update the webinar with the newly entered timings. Once the create button is pressed, the presentation elements will automatically sync to match the edits.
Once processing is complete, you can view the edits like an on-demand viewer using the Preview URL. However, the video player on the Archive Page will always display the total length of the original file.
Note: Be sure to use caution when cropping your webcast! You are editing the master version, and any content cropped out (slides, video clips, etc.) will be removed from the webinar and no longer visible to the audience.
If you want to edit more than the start and end times, click here to find more information on editing the Presenter Media file.
Single File Archive
A Single File Archive (SFA) is a video copy of your webcast that can be saved as a .MP4 file. The standard resolution is 720p. This file is separate from your archived on-demand version and is useful when you need to save a copy of the webcast for compliance purposes.
Find more information on Single File Archives here.
Important: Single File Archives of all webinars may be generated at no fee via your account for up to 30 days after the webinar start date. Requests for SFAs made more than 30 days after the start date of a webinar should be made via the submission of a service request to the ON24 Services team and shall incur a fee of $250 per SFA. If you have any questions, please submit a Technical Support request or contact your Customer Success Manager.
Creating chapters for the Table of Contents tool allows attendees to access sections of the webcast when watching on-demand quickly.
After the webcast has ended, add the Table of Contents tool to the Audience Console and chapters can be created in the Archive tab Chapters can be based on slides or timestamps. Find more information on using chapters here.
After a live webcast is complete, a default message will appear to your audience.
If you would like your attendees automatically redirected to a specific webpage, choose the Custom URL option and enter the web address. Use the Test button to ensure the URL is working properly. Once the webinar ends, the audience console will automatically refresh and load the custom URL.
Redirect is supported in Live, Simu-live, and Sim-2-Live webcasts.
- Live viewers are redirected after the live webcast ends.
- If viewers leave the webcast before it ends, they will not be redirected.
- Live viewers using the Survey tool will first complete the survey and be redirected once the survey has been submitted.
- If viewers leave the webcast early or close the survey, they will not be redirected.
Redirecting to ON24 Engagement Hub or Target
Subscribers to ON24 Engagement Hub or Target can be directed to new, specifically recommended or related content. The built-in token support in the specified URL allows users to be pre-registered (via seamless registration) into these destinations. For more information on using and configuring this feature, please see this article: Engagement Hub | Recommended and Related Content.
Accessing Breakout Room Recordings
After a Breakout Room has been recorded, the recordings are located on the Archive page in the webcast setup.
To view a list of recordings click the drop-down arrow. For a specific recording, click one of the Action buttons to view, download, or delete the recording.
Note: Only those with Manage Users logins have access to these recordings. Admins can decide on whether to download and share the video files with others.